M.D./Ph.D. Student Profiles

Titas Grabauskas

Titas Grabauskas headshot

Entering Year:  2020

Hometown:  Vilnius, Lithuania

Undergraduate:  Whittier College

Degree:  B.A., Biology

Thesis Advisor:  Undecided

Area of Concentration:  Undecided

Email:  tigrabauskas@uchc.edu

 

Caroline Guild

Caroline Guild headshot

Entering Year:  2020

Hometown:  Carlisle, MA

Undergraduate:  Wellesley College

Degree:  B.A., Biology

Thesis Advisor:  Undecided

Area of Concentration:  Undecided

Email:  guild@uchc.edu

 

 

Mian Horvath

Mian Horvath headshot

Entering Year:  2020

Hometown:  Gilford, NH

Undergraduate:  Bryn Mawr College

Degree:  B.A., Anthropology, Biology

Thesis Advisor:  Undecided

Area of Concentration:  Undecided

Email:  horvath@uchc.edu

Justin King

Justin King headshot

Entering Year:  2020

Hometown:  Idaho Falls, ID

Undergraduate:  University of British Columbia

Degree:  B.S., Honours Biochemistry

Thesis Advisor:  Undecided

Area of Concentration:  Undecided

Email:  juking@uchc.edu

Alexander (Alex) Mitchell

Alex Mitchell

Entering Year: 2020

Hometown:  Wellesley, MA

Undergraduate:  Brandeis University

Degrees:  B.S., M.S., Neuroscience, Biology, Biological Physics

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email: almitchell@uchc.edu

Christopher (Chris) Pathoulas

Christopher Pathoulas Headshot

Entering Year: 2020

Hometown:  Mantorville, MN

Undergraduate Institution:Saint John’s University (MN)

Degree:  B.A., Biology                 

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email:   pathoulas@uchc.edu

Joseph (Joe) Pathoulas

Joseph Pathoulas Headshot

Entering Year: 2020

Hometown: Mantorville, MN

Undergraduate Institution: Saint John’s University (MN)

Degree: B.A., Biology

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email: jpathoulas@uchc.edu

Adam Thiesen

Adam Theisen Headshot

Entering Year: 2020

Hometown: Providence, RI

Undergraduate Institution: Occidental College

Degree: B.A., Biochemistry

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email:  thiesen@uchc.edu

Summit Singharviranon

 

Summit Singhaviranon Headshot

Hometown: Cheshire, CT

Entering Year: 2020

Undergraduate Institution: University of Connecticut

Degree: B.S., M.S., Chemical Engineering, Molecular Biology

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email: singhaviranon@uchc.edu

 

Keaven Caro

Keaven Caro

Entering Year: 2019

Undergraduate Institution: Staten Island, NY

Graduate Institution: Marymount Manhattan College

Degree: B.S., Biology, Neuroscience

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email: caro@uchc.edu

Jacob Hudobenko

Jacob Hudobenko

Hometown: New Hartford, CT

Entering Year: 2019

Undergraduate Institution: University of Connecticut

Graduate Institution: University of Texas Health Science Center

Degree:  B.A., Biological Sciences, M.S.

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email: jahudobenko@uchc.edu

Keaton Karlinsey

Keaton Karlinsey

Hometown: Lima, Peru

Entering Year: 2019

Undergraduate Institution: Brigham Young University

Degree: B.S., Neuroscience

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email: karlinsey@uchc.edu

Bianca-Maria Marin

Bianca Marin

Hometown: Bucharest, Romania

Entering Year: 2019

Undergraduate Institution: Northwestern University

Degree: B.A., Biological Sciences, Psychology

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email: marin@uchc.edu

Omar Omar

Hometown: Alexandria, Egypt

Entering Year: 2019

Undergraduate Institution:  Vanderbilt University

Degree:  B.A., Molecular and Cellular Biology

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email: oomar@uchc.edu

Elizabeth Szabo

Elizabeth Szabo

Hometown: Stratford, CT

Entering Year: 2019

Undergraduate Institution:  Fairfield University

Degree: B.S., Biology

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email:  szabo@uchc.edu

Pearl Sutter

Pearl Sutter

Hometown: Windsor, MA

Entering Year: 2019

Undergraduate Institution:  Drew University

Degree: B.A., Neuroscience

Thesis Advisor:  Undecided

Area of Concentration:  Undecided

Email: psutter@uchc.edu

Rachel Cohn

Rachel Cohn

Hometown:South Windsor, CT

Entering Year: 2018

Undergraduate Institution: Wesleyan University, University of Connecticut (M.S.)

Degree: B.A., Mathematics, Neuroscience & Behavior, M.S., Applied Genomics

Thesis Advisor:  Travis Hinson M.D.

Area of Concentration:  Genetics and Developmental Biology

Email: rcohn@uchc.edu

Benjamin Coleman

Benjamin Coleman

Hometown:  Gray, ME

Entering Year: 2018

Undergraduate:  Cedarville University

Degree:  B.S. Physics with Minors in Bible and Mathematics

Thesis Advisor: Peter Robinson Ph.D. JAX-icon

Area of Concentration: Genetics and Developmental Biology

Email: bcoleman@uchc.edu

Jinhong Dong

Jinhong Dong

Entering Year: 2018

Hometown:   Rochester, MN

Undergraduate:  Carleton College

Degree:  B.A., Biochemistry

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email: jdong@uchc.edu

Ryan Englander

Ryan Englander

Entering Year: 2018

Hometown:  Suffield, CT

Undergraduate:  University of Connecticut

Degree:  B.S., Biochemistry

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email:englander@uchc.edu

Nathan Gasek

Nathan Gasek

Entering Year: 2018

Hometown:  Somers, CT

Undergraduate:  University of Vermont

Degree:  B.S., Chemistry, Pharmacology

Thesis Advisor:  Ming Xu Ph.D.

Area of Concentration:  Genetics and Developmental Biology

Email:  gasek@uchc.edu

 

Skylar Wright

Skylar Wright

Entering Year: 2018

Hometown:  Bristol, CT

Undergraduate:  University of Connecticut

Degrees:  B.S., Biology with Minors in Psychology, Women’s Studies

Thesis Advisor:  Vijay Rathinam, Ph.D.

Area of Concentration:  Immunology

Email:  skywright@uchc.edu

Annie Yao

Annie Yao

Entering Year: 2018

Hometown:  Cambridge, MA

Undergraduate:  Yale University

Degree:  B.S., Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry

Thesis Advisor:  Riqiang Yan Ph.D.

Area of Concentration:  Neuroscience

Email:  ayao@uchc.edu

Prakhar Bansal

Bansal, Prakhar

Hometown: North Haven, CT

Entering Year: 2017

Undergraduate Institution: University of Connecticut

Degree: B.S., Molecular and Cell Biology, M.S., Structural Biology, Biochemistry, and Biophysics

Thesis Advisor: Stefan Pinter

Area of Concentration: Genetics and Genomic Sciences

Email: pbansal@uchc.edu

Marc Benoit

benoit_marc_20170809_KWallace_2317

Hometown: Quincy, MA

Entering Year: 2017

Undergraduate Institution: Clark University

Degree: B.A., Chemistry

Thesis Advisor: Riqiang Ya, Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Neuroscience

Email: mbenoit@uchc.edu

Redwan Bhuiyan

bhuiyan_redwan_20170809_KWallace_2150-286x400

Hometown: Jamaica, NY

Entering Year: 2017

Undergraduate Institution: Wesleyan University

Degree: B.A., Molecular Biology and Biochemistry, Neuroscience and Behavior

Thesis Advisor: Michael Stitzel Ph.D. JAX-icon

Area of Concentration: Genetics and Developmental Biology

Email: rbhuiyan@uchc.edu

Brandon Byrd

byrd_brandon_20170809_KWallace_2244-286x400

Hometown: Port Allen, LA

Entering Year: 2017

Undergraduate Institution: Louisiana State University

Degree: B.S., Biochemistry

Thesis Advisor: Wendy Mok Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Molecular Biology and Biophysics

Email: bbyrd@uchc.edu

Timofey (Tima) Karginov

karginov_timofey_20170809_KWallace_2234-286x400

Hometown: Westmont, IL

Entering Year: 2017

Undergraduate Institution: University of Chicago

Degree: B.S., Biology

Thesis Advisor:  Anthony Vella

Area of Concentration: Immunology

Email: karginov@uchc.edu

Joseph (Joe) Masison

Masison-Joseph-20170809-Barton-0092-286x400

Hometown: Bethesda, MD

Entering Year: 2017

Undergraduate Institution: University of Maryland

Degree: B.S., Computer Science, B.S., Physiology & Neurobiology

Thesis Advisor: Pedro Mendes Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Systems Biology

Email: masison@uchc.edu

Patrick McMullan

McMullan-Patrick-20170809-Barton-0265-286x400

Hometown: Easton, PA

Entering Year: 2017

Undergraduate Institution: Rochester Institute of Technology

Degree: B.S., Biomedical Science

Thesis Advisor: Emily Germain-Lee M.D.

Area of Concentration: Skeletal Biology

Email: mcmullan@uchc.edu

Gianluca Arianna

Arianna-Gianluca-372x400

Hometown: Jackson Heights, NY

Entering Year: 2016

Undergraduate Institution: City University of New York Hunter College

Degree: B.A., Chemistry, Special Honors Curriculum

Thesis Advisor: Dmitry Korzhnev Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Molecular Biology & Biophysics.

Email: arianna@uchc.edu

Rory Geyer

Geyer-Rory-300x400

Hometown: Redding, CT

Entering Year: 2016

Undergraduate Institution: University of Connecticut

Degree: B.S., Molecular and Cell Biology

Thesis Advisor:  Pramod Srivastava Ph.D. M.D.

Area of Concentration: Immunology.

Email: geyer@uchc.edu

Lauren Marazzi

Marazzi-Lauren-400x267

Hometown: Wayne, NJ

Entering Year: 2016

Undergraduate Institution: Connecticut College

Degree: B.A., Bioinformatics

Thesis Advisor: Paola Vera-Licona Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Systems Biology

Email: marazzi@uchc.edu

Nathan Leclair

Leclair-Nathan-e1469544941768-300x400

Hometown: Southington, CT

Entering Year: 2016

Undergraduate Institution: University of Connecticut

Degree: B.S., Molecular and Cell Biology, Physiology and Neurobiology

Thesis Advisor: Olga Anczukow Ph.D JAX-icon

Area of Concentration: Genetics and Developmental Biology

Email: nleclair@uchc.edu

Bruce Rheaume

Rheaume-Bruce-359x400

Hometown: Litchfield, NH

Entering Year: 2016

Undergraduate Institution: University of New Hampshire

Degree: B.A., Biology

Thesis Advisor: Feliks Trakhtenberg Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Neuroscience

Email: rheaume@uchc.edu

Jennifer Chung

Chung-Jennifer-658-263x400

Hometown: Brooklyn, NY

Entering Year: 2015

Undergraduate Institution: New York University

Degree: B.A., Biology

Thesis Advisor: George Weinstock Ph.D.  JAX-icon

Area of Concentration: Genetics and Developmental Biology

Email: jchung@uchc.edu

Feria Ladha

Feria Ladha Headshot

Hometown: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Entering Year: 2015

Undergraduate Institution: McGill University

Graduate Institution: Johns Hopkins University

Degrees: B.S., Anatomy and Cell Biology, M.S. Public Health

Thesis Advisor: Travis Hinson, M.D.

Area of Concentration: Genetics and Developmental Biology

Email: ladha@uchc.edu

Peter Larson

Hometown: New Canaan, CT

Entering Year: 2015

Undergraduate Institution: University of Connecticut

Degree: B.S., Pathobiology; B.S. Molecular & Cell Biology

Thesis Advisor: Julia Oh, Ph.D. JAX-icon

Area of Concentration: Genetics and Developmental Biology

Email: plarson@uchc.edu

Tony Pettinato

Tony Pettinato

Hometown: Monrovia, MD

Entering Year: 2015

Undergraduate Institution: University of Maryland

Degree: B.S., Biology

Thesis Advisor: Travis Hinson, M.D.

Area of Concentration: Genetics and Developmental Biology

Email: pettinato@uchc.edu

Kristin Tokarski

Tokarski-Kristin-90-268x400

Hometown: Naugatuck, CT

Entering Year: 2015

Undergraduate Institution: University of Connecticut

Degree: B.S., Physiology and Neurobiology

Thesis Advisor: Kimberly Dodge-Kafka, Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Cell Biology

Email: tokarski@uchc.edu

Laura Urbanski

Laura Urbanski

Hometown: Noank, CT

Entering Year: 2015

Undergraduate Institution: College of the Holy Cross

Degree: B.A., Cursu Honoris, Chemistry

Thesis Advisor: Olga Anczukȯw Ph.D. JAX-icon

Area of Concentration: Genetics and Developmental Biology

Email: lurbanski@uchc.edu

Victor (Vic) Wang

Victor Wang

Hometown: Rockville, MD

Entering Year: 2015

Undergraduate Institution: University of Maryland

Degree: B.S., Bioengineering

Thesis Advisor: Jeffrey Chuang, Ph.D. JAX-icon

Area of Concentration: Genetics and Developmental Biology

Email: vicwang@uchc.edu

Michael Chung

Michael-Chung-Photo

Hometown: Valley Stream, NY

Entering Year: 2014

Undergraduate Institution: SUNY at Binghamton

Graduate Institution: SUNY at Binghamton

Degrees: B.S., Biochemistry,
M.S., Chemistry and Biology

Thesis Advisor: Stormy Chamberlain, Ph.D., and Gordon Carmichael, Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Genetics and Genome Sciences

Email: chung@uchc.edu

Katie Discipio

Katherine-DiScipio-Photo

Hometown: South Glastonbury, CT

Entering Year: 2014

Undergraduate Institution: University of Chicago

Degree: B.A., Biological Sciences

Thesis Advisor: Sandra Weller, Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Molecular Biology and Biochemistry

Email: discipio@uchc.edu

Grace Kwon

Kwon-Grace-2-267x400

Hometown: Beaverton, OR

Entering Year: 2014

Undergraduate Institution: Washington State University

Degree: B.S., Biology

Thesis Advisor: Adam Williams, Ph.D. JAX-icon

Area of Concentration: Genetics and Developmental Biology

Email: grkwon@uchc.edu

Nick Wasko

WaskoNicholas_JGelineau6488s-400x267

Hometown: Redding, CT

Entering Year: 2014

Undergraduate Institution: University of Connecticut

Degree: B.S., Physiology and Neurobiology

Thesis Advisor: Robert Clark, M.D.

Area of Concentration: Immunology

Email: wasko@uchc.edu

Maria Xu

Maria Xu

Hometown: Morgantown, WV

Entering Year: 2014

Undergraduate Institution: Harvard University

Degree: B.A., Chemical and Physical Biology

Thesis Advisor: Anthony Vella, Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Immunology

Email: marixu@uchc.edu

Allie Goetjen

GoetjenAlexandrav2-267x400

Hometown: New Milford, CT

Entering Year: 2013

Undergraduate Institution: University of Connecticut

Degrees: B.S., Molecular and Cell Biology, M.S., Molecular and Cell Biology

Thesis Advisor: Jon Covault, M.D., Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Genetics and Developmental Biology

Email: agoetjen@uchc.edu

Sarah Pan

Sarah Pan

Hometown: Burlington, CT

Entering Year: 2013

Undergraduate Institution: University of Hartford

Degrees: Bachelor of Music (BM), Piano Performance, B.S., Biology

Thesis Advisor: Guo Fong, Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Cell Biology

Email: span@uchc.edu

Russ Posner

Posner-Russell-173-289x400

Hometown: Greenwich, CT

Entering Year: 2013

Undergraduate Institution: Duke University

Graduate Institution: New York University

Degrees: B.A., Chemistry, B.S., Mathematics, M.S., Mathematics

Thesis Advisor: Reinhard Laubenbacher, Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Cell Analysis and Modeling

Email: rposner@uchc.edu

JAX-icon = The Jackson Laboratory for Genomic Medicine affiliated faculty