M.D./Ph.D. Student Profiles

Keaven Caro

Keaven Caro

Name: Keaven Caro

Entering Year: 2019

Undergraduate Institution: Staten Island, NY

Graduate Institution: Marymount Manhattan College

Degree: B.S., Biology, Neuroscience

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email: caro@uchc.edu

Jacob Hudobenko

Jacob Hudobenko

Name: Jacob Hudobenko

Entering Year: 2019

Undergraduate Institution: University of Connecticut

Graduate Institution: University of Texas Health Science Center

Degree:  B.A., Biological Sciences, M.S.

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email: jahudobenko@uchc.edu

Keaton Karlinsey

Keaton Karlinsey

Name: Keaton Karlinsey

Entering Year: 2019

Undergraduate Institution: Brigham Young University

Degree: B.S., Neuroscience

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email: karlinsey@uchc.edu

Bianca-Maria Marin

Bianca Marin

Name: Bianca-Maria Marin

Hometown: Bucharest, Romania

Entering Year: 2019

Undergraduate Institution: Northwestern University

Degree: B.A., Biological Sciences, Psychology

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email: marin@uchc.edu

Omar Omar

Name: Omar Omar

Hometown: Alexandria, Egypt

Entering Year: 2019

Undergraduate Institution:  Vanderbilt University

Degree:  B.A., Molecular and Cellular Biology

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email: oomar@uchc.edu

Elizabeth Szabo

Elizabeth Szabo

Name: Elizabeth Szabo

Hometown: Stratford, CT

Entering Year: 2019

Undergraduate Institution:  Fairfield University

Degree: B.S., Biology

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email:  szabo@uchc.edu

Pearl Sutter

Pearl Sutter

Name: Pear Sutter

Hometown: Windsor, MA

Entering Year: 2019

Undergraduate Institution:  Drew University

Degree: B.A., Neuroscience

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email: psutter@uchc.edu

Rachel Cohn

Rachel Cohn

Name: Rachel Cohn

Hometown:South Windsor, CT

Entering Year: 2018

Undergraduate Institution: Wesleyan University, University of Connecticut (M.S.)

Degree: B.A., Mathematics, Neuroscience & Behavior, M.S., Applied Genomics

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email: rcohn@uchc.edu

Benjamin Coleman

Benjamin Coleman

Name:  Benjamin Coleman

Hometown:  Gray, ME

Entering Year: 2018

Undergraduate:  Cedarville University

Degree:  B.S. Physics with Minors in Bible and Mathematics

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email: bcoleman@uchc.edu

Jinhong Dong

Jinhong Dong

Name:  Jinhong Dong

Entering Year: 2018

Hometown:   Rochester, MN

Undergraduate:  Carleton College

Degree:  B.A., Biochemistry

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email: jdong@uchc.edu

Ryan Englander

Ryan Englander

Name:  Ryan Englander

Entering Year: 2018

Hometown:  Suffield, CT

Undergraduate:  University of Connecticut

Degree:  B.S., Biochemistry

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email:englander@uchc.edu

Nathan Gasek

Nathan Gasek

Name:  Nathan Gasek

Entering Year: 2018

Hometown:  Somers, CT

Undergraduate:  University of Vermont

Degree:  B.S., Chemistry, Pharmacology

Thesis Advisor:  Undecided

Area of Concentration:  Undecided

Email:  gasek@uchc.edu

 

Skylar Wright

Skylar Wright

Name:  Skylar Wright

Entering Year: 2018

Hometown:  Bristol, CT

Undergraduate:  University of Connecticut

Degrees:  B.S., Biology with Minors in Psychology, Women’s Studies

Thesis Advisor:  Undecided

Area of Concentration:  Undecided

Email:  skywright@uchc.edu

Annie Yao

Annie Yao

Name:  Annie Yao

Entering Year: 2018

Hometown:  Cambridge, MA

Undergraduate:  Yale University

Degree:  B.S., Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry

Thesis Advisor:  Undecided

Area of Concentration:  Undecided

Email:  ayao@uchc.edu

Prakhar Bansal

Bansal, Prakhar

Name: Prakhar Bansal

Hometown: North Haven, CT

Entering Year: 2017

Undergraduate Institution: University of Connecticut

Degree: B.S., Molecular and Cell Biology, M.S., Structural Biology, Biochemistry, and Biophysics

Thesis Advisor: Stefan Pinter

Area of Concentration: Genetics and Genomic Sciences

Email: pbansal@uchc.edu

benoit_marc_20170809_KWallace_2317

Name: Marc Benoit

Hometown: Quincy, MA

Entering Year: 2017

Undergraduate Institution: Clark University

Degree: B.A., Chemistry

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email: mbenoit@uchc.edu

bhuiyan_redwan_20170809_KWallace_2150-286x400

Name: Redwan Bhuiyan

Hometown: Jamaica, NY

Entering Year: 2017

Undergraduate Institution: Wesleyan University

Degree: B.A., Molecular Biology and Biochemistry, Neuroscience and Behavior

Thesis Advisor: Michael Stizel

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email: rbhuiyan@uchc.edu

byrd_brandon_20170809_KWallace_2244-286x400

Name: Brandon Byrd

Hometown: Port Allen, LA

Entering Year: 2017

Undergraduate Institution: Louisiana State University

Degree: B.S., Biochemistry

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email: bbyrd@uchc.edu

karginov_timofey_20170809_KWallace_2234-286x400

Name: Timofey (Tima) Karginov

Hometown: Westmont, IL

Entering Year: 2017

Undergraduate Institution: University of Chicago

Degree: B.S., Biology

Thesis Advisor:  Anthony Vella

Area of Concentration: Immunology

Email: karginov@uchc.edu

Masison-Joseph-20170809-Barton-0092-286x400

Name: Joseph (Joe) Masison

Hometown: Bethesda, MD

Entering Year: 2017

Undergraduate Institution: University of Maryland

Degree: B.S., Computer Science, B.S., Physiology & Neurobiology

Thesis Advisor: Reinhard Laubenbacher

Area of Concentration: Cell Analysis and Modeling

Email: masison@uchc.edu

McMullan-Patrick-20170809-Barton-0265-286x400

Name: Patrick McMullan

Hometown: Easton, PA

Entering Year: 2017

Undergraduate Institution: Rochester Institute of Technology

Degree: B.S., Biomedical Science

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email: mcmullan@uchc.edu

skaf_yara_20170809_KWallace_2290-286x400

Name: Yara Skaf

Hometown: Baden, PA

Entering Year: 2017

Undergraduate Institution: University of Pittsburgh

Degree: B.S., Chemistry, Mathematics, Molecular Biology

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email: skaf@uchc.edu

Arianna-Gianluca-372x400

Name: Gianluca Arianna

Hometown: Jackson Heights, NY

Entering Year: 2016

Undergraduate Institution: City University of New York Hunter College

Degree: B.A., Chemistry, Special Honors Curriculum

Thesis Advisor: Dmitry Korzhnev

Area of Concentration: Molecular Biology & Biophysics.

Email: arianna@uchc.edu

Geyer-Rory-300x400

Name: Rory Geyer

Hometown: Redding, CT

Entering Year: 2016

Undergraduate Institution: University of Connecticut

Degree: B.S., Molecular and Cell Biology

Thesis Advisor:  Pramod Srivastava

Area of Concentration: Immunology.

Email: geyer@uchc.edu

Marazzi-Lauren-400x267

Name: Lauren Marazzi

Hometown: Wayne, NJ

Entering Year: 2016

Undergraduate Institution: Connecticut College

Degree: B.A., Bioinformatics

Thesis Advisor: Paola Vera-Licona

Area of Concentration: Cell Analysis and Modeling

Email: marazzi@uchc.edu

Leclair-Nathan-e1469544941768-300x400

Name: Nathan Leclair

Hometown: Southington, CT

Entering Year: 2016

Undergraduate Institution: University of Connecticut

Degree: B.S., Molecular and Cell Biology, Physiology and Neurobiology

Thesis Advisor: Olga Anczukow JAX-icon

Area of Concentration: Genetics and Developmental Biology

Email: nleclair@uchc.edu

Rheaume-Bruce-359x400

Name: Bruce Rheaume

Hometown: Litchfield, NH

Entering Year: 2016

Undergraduate Institution: University of New Hampshire

Degree: B.A., Biology

Thesis Advisor: Feliks Trakhtenberg

Area of Concentration: Neuroscience.

Email: rheaume@uchc.edu

Chung-Jennifer-658-263x400

Name: Jennifer Chung

Hometown: Brooklyn, NY

Entering Year: 2015

Undergraduate Institution: New York University

Degree: B.A., Biology

Thesis Advisor: George Weinstock JAX-icon

Email: jchung@uchc.edu

Feria Ladha Headshot

Name: Feria Ladha

Hometown: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Entering Year: 2015

Undergraduate Institution: McGill University

Graduate Institution: Johns Hopkins University

Degrees: B.S., Anatomy and Cell Biology, M.S. Public Health

Thesis Advisor: Travis Hinson, M.D.

Email: ladha@uchc.edu

Name: Peter Larson

Hometown: New Canaan, CT

Entering Year: 2015

Undergraduate Institution: University of Connecticut

Degree: B.S., Pathobiology; B.S. Molecular & Cell Biology

Thesis Advisor: Julia Oh, Ph.D. JAX-icon

Area of Concentration: Genetics and Genome Sciences

Email: plarson@uchc.edu

Tony Pettinato

Name: Tony Pettinato

Hometown: Monrovia, MD

Entering Year: 2015

Undergraduate Institution: University of Maryland

Degree: B.S., Biology

Thesis Advisor: Travis Hinson, M.D.

Area of Concentration: Genetics and Genome Sciences

Email: pettinato@uchc.edu

Tokarski-Kristin-90-268x400

Name: Kristin Tokarski

Hometown: Naugatuck, CT

Entering Year: 2015

Undergraduate Institution: University of Connecticut

Degree: B.S., Physiology and Neurobiology

Thesis Advisor: Kimberly Dodge-Kafka, Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Cell Biology

Email: tokarski@uchc.edu

Laura Urbanski

Name: Laura Urbanski

Hometown: Noank, CT

Entering Year: 2015

Undergraduate Institution: College of the Holy Cross

Degree: B.A., Cursu Honoris, Chemistry

Thesis Advisor: Olga Anczukȯw-Camarda, Ph.D. JAX-icon

Area of Concentration: Genetics and Genome Sciences

Email: lurbanski@uchc.edu

Vic Wang

Victor Wang

Name: Victor Wang

Hometown: Rockville, MD

Entering Year: 2015

Undergraduate Institution: University of Maryland

Degree: B.S., Bioengineering

Thesis Advisor: Jeffrey Chuang, Ph.D. JAX-icon

Area of Concentration: Genetics and Genome Sciences

Email: vicwang@uchc.edu

Michael Chung

Michael-Chung-Photo

Name: Michael Chung

Hometown: Valley Stream, NY

Entering Year: 2014

Undergraduate Institution: SUNY at Binghamton

Graduate Institution: SUNY at Binghamton

Degrees: B.S., Biochemistry,
M.S., Chemistry and Biology

Thesis Advisor: Stormy Chamberlain, Ph.D., and Gordon Carmichael, Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Genetics and Genome Sciences

Email: chung@uchc.edu

Katie Discipio

Katherine-DiScipio-Photo

Name: Katie DiScipio

Hometown: South Glastonbury, CT

Entering Year: 2014

Undergraduate Institution: University of Chicago

Degree: B.A., Biological Sciences

Thesis Advisor: Sandra Weller, Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Molecular Biology and Biochemistry

Email: discipio@uchc.edu

Kwon-Grace-2-267x400

Name: Grace Kwon

Hometown: Beaverton, OR

Entering Year: 2014

Undergraduate Institution: Washington State University

Degree: B.S., Biology

Thesis Advisor: Adam Williams, Ph.D. JAX-icon

Area of Concentration: Genetics and Developmental Biology

Email: grkwon@uchc.edu

Nick Wasko

WaskoNicholas_JGelineau6488s-400x267

Name: Nick Wasko

Hometown: Redding, CT

Entering Year: 2014

Undergraduate Institution: University of Connecticut

Degree: B.S., Physiology and Neurobiology

Thesis Advisor: Robert Clark, M.D.

Area of Concentration: Immunology

Email: wasko@uchc.edu

Maria Xu

Maria Xu

Name: Maria Xu

Hometown: Morgantown, WV

Entering Year: 2014

Undergraduate Institution: Harvard University

Degree: B.A., Chemical and Physical Biology

Thesis Advisor: Anthony Vella, Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Immunology

Email: marixu@uchc.edu

GoetjenAlexandrav2-267x400

Name: Allie Goetjen

Hometown: New Milford, CT

Entering Year: 2013

Undergraduate Institution: University of Connecticut

Degrees: B.S., Molecular and Cell Biology, M.S., Molecular and Cell Biology

Thesis Advisor: Jon Covault, M.D., Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Genetics and Genome Sciences

Email: agoetjen@uchc.edu

Sarah Pan

Name: Sarah Pan

Hometown: Burlington, CT

Entering Year: 2013

Undergraduate Institution: University of Hartford

Degrees: Bachelor of Music (BM), Piano Performance, B.S., Biology

Thesis Advisor: Guo Fong, Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Cell Biology

Email: span@uchc.edu

Russ Posner

Posner-Russell-173-289x400

Name: Russell Posner

Hometown: Greenwich, CT

Entering Year: 2013

Undergraduate Institution: Duke University

Graduate Institution: New York University

Degrees: B.A., Chemistry, B.S., Mathematics, M.S., Mathematics

Thesis Advisor: Reinhard Laubenbacher, Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Cell Analysis and Modeling

Email: rposner@uchc.edu

Joe Ryan

Ryan-Joseph

Name: Joe Ryan

Hometown: Shrewsbury, MA

Entering Year: 2012

Undergraduate Institution: University of Massachusetts

Degree: B.S., Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Chemistry

Thesis Advisor: Anthony Vella, Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Immunology

Email: joeryan@uchc.edu

Yu-Albert-269x400

Name: Albert Yu

Hometown: Los Angeles, CA

Entering Year: 2012

Undergraduate Institution: University of California, Berkeley

Degree: B.A., Molecular and Cell Biology, Public Health

Thesis Advisor: Lixia Yue, Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Cell Biology

Email: alyu@uchc.edu

JAX-icon = The Jackson Laboratory for Genomic Medicine affiliated faculty